Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario

Dr. Paul’s Vax Facts

If you haven’t been vaccinated yet, if you have concerns, if you have questions… we encourage you to read on. A series of articles about the COVID-19 vaccine will be shared here over the coming days and weeks.



Containing the Fourth Wave with Increased Rates of Fully Vaccinated Residents

We are now seeing local COVID-19 case numbers creep back up, officially bringing us into this fourth wave. The biggest difference between this wave and previous ones is the number of people that are vaccinated vs. unvaccinated and the presence of the Delta variant. 

As of September 8th, 2021, current data showed that 85% of eligible residents within the EOHU region had received at least one dose of a COVID-19 vaccine — while 78.3% were fully vaccinated. Data shows the majority of Ontarians facing severe outcomes related to COVID-19 are unvaccinated or only partially protected (Figure 1).

The first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine gives good, but only partial protection. The second dose is what will boost the first one to give optimal protection. We also know that the Delta variant responds well to the vaccine, but only after the second dose. Therefore, it is important to get the second dose.

Figure 1: Proportion of confirmed COVID-19 cases, hospitalizations (including intensive care unit admissions), and deaths among unvaccinated, partially vaccinated, and breakthrough (fully vaccinated) cases: Ontario, December 14, 2020 to August 7, 2021

Source: Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion (Public Health Ontario). Confirmed cases of COVID-19 following vaccination in Ontario: December 14, 2020 to August 7, 2021. Toronto, ON: Queen’s Printer for Ontario; 2021.


The Second Dose Trifecta: Protection from Delta, Lower Severity of Illness & Decreased Hospitalizations

As with any immunization, when you receive a COVID-19 vaccine, protection from infection does not happen immediately. Immunity develops over time. The COVID-19 vaccine is very effective (60-80%) at preventing COVID-19 infection 3-4 weeks after receiving a single dose. Following the second dose, this protection increases (greater than 85%).

The vaccine has been shown to be effective against the Delta variant. This, however, is only true for individuals who have received two doses. Those who have received only one dose are still at great risk of infection. Fully vaccinated individuals (14 days after receiving the second dose) benefit from protection against the Delta and other currently known variants.

In the slight chance that COVID-19 cases occur in fully vaccinated individuals, the vaccines are shown to reduce the severity of illness, if symptomatic at all. This in turn reduces transmission because these breakthrough cases have a decreased viral load and are not shedding it as much.

Full vaccination offers substantial protection against severe health outcome needing hospital care. Unvaccinated people have a 30-fold higher risk of being in the hospital and 48-fold higher risk of being in the ICU compared to the fully vaccinated (Figure 1). Increasing the rate of full vaccination will help ensure hospitals don’t become overwhelmed.

Figure 1. Analysis: Secretariat of the Science Advisory Table (https://covid19-sciencetable.ca/ontario-dashboard/). Data: https://data.ontario.ca/ and CCM plus; estimates of patients in hospital and ICU are age standardized.

Source: https://covid19-sciencetable.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Update-on-COVID-19-Projections_2021.09.01_English-1.pdf


Breakthrough Infections: Still Benefitting from the Protection of the Vaccine

The COVID-19 vaccine is very effective at preventing infection; however, a small number of infections ‘break through’ among fully vaccinated individuals (14+ days since 2nd dose). This is known as breakthrough infection, which only 6.4% of all fully vaccinated individuals in Ontario have experienced.

Breakthrough infections are more commonly occurring among elderly populations and other vulnerable people with a lower immune response to vaccines. While it is possible and expected for some who are fully vaccinated to get COVID-19, this does not mean the vaccine doesn't work. Individuals experiencing a breakthrough infection are more mildly affected, still benefiting from the protection of the vaccine against severe outcomes.

Vaccines are most importantly intended to prevent severe illness, hospitalization, ICU admission and death. The COVID-19 vaccine is doing that very effectively, even in those who experience a breakthrough infection. Please don’t let the possibility of a breakthrough infection discourage you from receiving the vaccine.


Third Dose for Some: Does This Mean Two Doses Are Not Effective?

For most fully vaccinated individuals (two doses), the COVID-19 vaccine provides strong protection against illness and severe outcomes. However, a third dose is being offered to certain vulnerable populations who, compared to the general population, have a waning or a decreased immune response to the vaccine.

This does not mean that two doses are not effective. A complete two-dose COVID-19 vaccine series provides strong protection against COVID-19 infection and severe outcomes, including against the Delta variant of concern, in the general population.

Given the specific needs and circumstances of individuals in the identified vulnerable groups, a third dose will help to provide an improved immune response and decrease their risk of becoming a breakthrough case.

The recommendation for a third dose for individuals in these groups is to bring their level of protection up to the level that the general population gets from two doses. It is a response that will help safeguard the health of our region’s residents.


For the Kids: How Your Vaccination Protects Others Who Can’t

Without the COVID-19 vaccine, anyone who comes into close contact with someone who is infected is at risk of becoming infected themselves, and of potentially infecting others.

If a fully vaccinated individual (14+ days since second dose) comes into close contact with someone who is infected, their risk of becoming infected themselves, and of potentially infecting others is greatly reduced.

If they don’t become infected, then they will not spread it to others.

If they do become infected, they may be less likely to spread it to others because with most variants they will have a smaller amount of the virus present in their bodies and release less of it while they talk, exhale or do other normal daily activities.

Children under 12 years of age make up a large portion of the population who are not yet vaccinated. Those who are eligible and who do receive the vaccine, help stop the spread of COVID-19, protecting children and others who cannot be vaccinated themselves.


Achieving Herd Immunity Through COVID-19 Vaccines

Herd immunity happens once enough people are immune to a disease, making its spread unlikely. As more and more residents receive the COVID-19 vaccine, we come closer to achieving this.

Herd immunity even provides a layer of protection for those who cannot be vaccinated because the immune people weaken the potential chain of transmission, so the virus has little opportunity to spread within the community.

Unlike COVID-19 infection, COVID-19 vaccines create immunity without causing illness or resulting in severe disease, hospitalization, or death. We must continue to increase the rate of COVID-19 Vaccination Within the EOHU Population to achieve herd immunity.

The percentage of a population that needs to be vaccinated to achieve herd immunity depends on how contagious the disease is. The Delta variant is highly contagious, meaning that a greater proportion of the population needs to be vaccinated to stop the spread of COVID-19.


COVID-19 Vaccines: Your Concerns on Fertility, Pregnancy and Breastfeeding

Getting the COVID-19 vaccine is a safe way for people to protect themselves from severe illness. This includes people who are pregnant, trying to get pregnant, or might want to become pregnant in the future and their partners. There is currently no evidence that any vaccines, including COVID-19 vaccines, cause fertility problems in women or men.

The vaccine is safe and recommended for pregnant people because they are at higher risk of complications if a COVID-19 infection occurs during pregnancy. COVID-19 vaccines can also be safely given to breastfeeding people. Antibodies that a vaccinated pregnant or breastfeeding person makes are likely to pass on to the baby. This is safe for the baby and helps protect the baby from COVID-19.


Five Reasons to Receive the Vaccine

If you become infected, you may recover quickly, but some are more severely impacted. Here are five reasons to receive the vaccine.

  1. Vaccines are most importantly intended to prevent severe illness, hospitalization, ICU admission and death. The COVID-19 vaccine is doing that very effectively. Increasing the rate of full vaccination will help ensure hospitals don’t become overwhelmed.
  2. The vaccine is effective, even against the Delta variant for individuals who are fully vaccinated.
  3. In the small chance that a fully vaccinated person gets COVID-19, the vaccines are shown to reduce the symptoms and severity of illness. This in turn reduces transmission because, with most variants, they tend to have a smaller amount of the virus present in their bodies and release less of it while they talk, exhale, or do other normal daily activities.
  4. As more and more people receive the COVID-19 vaccine, we come closer to achieving herd immunity which happens once enough people are immune to a disease, making its spread unlikely.
  5. Unlike COVID-19 infection, the COVID-19 vaccine creates longer term immunity without causing severe disease, hospitalization, or death. If you have had COVID-19, the vaccine is still recommended. Natural immunity from COVID-19 infection may not last as long, making it possible to get it and spread it again.

Infection Causes Much More Serious Health Outcomes Than the Vaccine

COVID-19 Infection

Complications from COVID-19 infection can include serious conditions, like pneumonia or kidney failure and, in some cases, death. There is no specific treatment for COVID-19. The majority of COVID-19 cases are mild and most people who get it will recover on their own. However, an infected person can spread the virus to others who may be more vulnerable and more severely impacted.

Though most recover quickly, some people have symptoms for several months after having the COVID-19 infection. Long-term symptoms may include extreme tiredness, cough, shortness of breath, pounding heartbeat, dizziness, headaches, sore throat, fever, chest pain, joint pain, or rash.

Treatments like ivermectin are not effective and can be highly dangerous. Vaccines, however, are effective in helping to prevent serious health outcomes.

COVID-19 Vaccine

Some people may experience side effects from the vaccine, but these will likely be mild to moderate and resolve after a few days. The most common side effects include pain at the injection site, headache, tiredness, muscle or joint pain, chills and fever.

Severe allergic reactions are rare but can occur within 2 hours of vaccination. They include hives, swelling of the mouth and throat, trouble breathing, hoarseness or wheezing. Other serious side effects are very rare but can occur within days or weeks of vaccination. They include fever over 40˚C or 104˚F, flu-like symptoms, seizures or other unusual or unexpected events.

Ontario is not administering first doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine out of an abundance of caution due to a rare blood clotting condition after vaccination. Rare cases of myocarditis/pericarditis following mRNA vaccination have been reported. Investigations into the association between myocarditis/pericarditis and mRNA vaccines continue.

Bottom Line

The short-term side effects of the COVID-19 vaccine are less than the risk and potential long-term health damage caused by the COVID-19 virus. Long-term side effects are not expected with the COVID-19 vaccines. For the vast majority of people, side effects of the vaccine are mild or moderate and last only for a few days. They’re a normal sign that your immune system is working to build protection against COVID-19.


This concludes Dr. Paul's Vax Facts, a series of articles about the COVID-19 vaccine.

Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario

Dr Paul Vaxé C.la.clé

Si vous n’avez pas encore été vacciné, si vous êtes inquiet, ou si vous avez des questions… poursuivez votre lecture. Une série d’articles sur le vaccin contre la COVID-19 seront publiés ici au cours des prochains jours et des semaines à venir.



Maîtriser la quatrième vague par des taux accrus de résidents entièrement vaccinés

On remarque maintenant que le nombre de cas de COVID-19 localement recommence à grimper, ouvrant la porte officiellement à la quatrième vague dans la région. La plus grande différence entre cette vague et les précédentes consiste du nombre de personnes vaccinées c. non vaccinées et la présence du variant Delta.

En date du 8 septembre 2021, les données actuelles indiquent que 85 % des résidents admissibles de la région du BSEO avaient reçu au moins une dose du vaccin contre la COVID-19 — tandis que 78.3 % étaient entièrement vaccinés. Les données indiquent que la majorité des Ontariens connaissant des conséquences graves liées à la COVID-19 sont non vaccinés ou ne sont que partiellement protégés (figure 1).

Bien que la protection offerte par la première dose du vaccin contre la COVID-19 soit bonne, elle n’est que partielle. La seconde dose stimulera la première pour donner une protection optimale. On sait également que le variant Delta répond bien au vaccin, mais seulement après la seconde dose. Par conséquent, il est important d’obtenir la seconde dose.

Figure 1 : Proportion de cas de COVID-19 confirmés, d’hospitalisations (incluant les admissions aux soins intensifs) et les décès chez les non vaccinés, les partiellement vaccinés et les cas sporadiques (entièrement vaccinés) : Ontario, du 14 décembre 2020 au 7 août 2021.

Source : Agence ontarienne de protection et de promotion de la santé (Santé publique Ontario). Cas confirmés de COVID-19 après la vaccination en Ontario : du 14 décembre 2020 au 21 août 2021, Toronto, ON : L'Imprimeur de la Reine pour la Province de l'Ontario, 2021.


Triple effet de la seconde dose : protection contre le Delta, moins grande sévérité de la maladie et hospitalisations moins nombreuses

Comme pour toutes les immunisations, la protection contre les infections ne se produit pas immédiatement après avoir reçu le vaccin contre la COVID-19. L’immunité se développe au fil du temps. Le vaccin contre la COVID-19 est très efficace (60 – 80 %) pour prévenir l’infection de la COVID-19 trois à quatre semaines après avoir reçu une seule dose. À la suite de la seconde dose, cette protection augmente (dépassant 85 %).

Le vaccin s’est montré efficace contre le variant Delta, mais cela n’est vrai, toutefois, que pour les personnes qui ont reçu deux doses. Les personnes qui n’ont reçu qu’une seule dose courent toujours de grands risques d’infection. Les personnes entièrement vaccinées (14 jours après avoir reçu la seconde dose) sont protégées contre le Delta et les autres variants connus à ce jour.

Dans la faible probabilité que des cas de COVID-19 surviennent chez des personnes entièrement vaccinées, il est démontré que les vaccins réduisent la gravité de la maladie, advenant qu’il y ait des symptômes. À leur tour, ils réduisent la transmission puisque la charge virale de ces cas sporadiques est réduite tout comme l’excrétion virale est faible.

L’entière vaccination offre une importante protection contre le développement de maladie grave exigeant l’hospitalisation. Les personnes non vaccinées sont 30 fois plus à risque d’être hospitalisées et 48 fois plus à risque de se retrouver aux soins intensifs comparativement aux personnes entièrement vaccinées (Figure 1). Un taux accru de la vaccination complète assurera que les hôpitaux ne deviennent surchargés.

Figure 1. Analyse du Secrétariat de la Science Advisory Table (https://covid19-sciencetable.ca/ontario-dashboard/). Données : https://data.ontario.ca/fr/  et CCM plus; les estimations des patients hospitalisés et ceux qui sont aux soins intensifs sont normalisés pour l’âge (traduction libre).


 
Source : https://covid19-sciencetable.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Update-on-COVID-19-Projections_2021.09.01_English-1.pdf


La couverture vaccinale est quand même un avantage contre les infections sporadiques

Le vaccin contre la COVID-19 est très efficace pour prévenir l’infection. Cependant, un petit nombre d’infections ‘sporadiques’ surviennent parmi les personnes entièrement vaccinées (+14 jours après la 2e dose). On y réfère comme étant des infections sporadiques qui ont seulement touché 6,4 % des Ontariens et Ontariennes entièrement vaccinés.

Les infections sporadiques se produisent plus souvent parmi les personnes âgées et les autres populations vulnérables dont la réponse immunitaire au vaccin est plus faible. Bien qu’il soit possible et même attendu que certaines personnes entièrement vaccinées développent la COVID-19, cela ne veut pas dire que le vaccin ne fonctionne pas. Ceux qui sont atteints d’une infection sporadique sont moins sévèrement affectés, tirant quand même un avantage de la protection vaccinale contre des symptômes graves.

Il est important de noter que les vaccins visent principalement à prévenir la maladie grave, l’hospitalisation, l’admission aux soins intensifs et le décès. Le vaccin contre la COVID-19 y arrive de façon très efficace, même chez les personnes atteintes d’infection sporadique. Je vous prie de ne pas laisser la possibilité d’une infection sporadique vous empêcher de prendre le vaccin.


Une troisième dose pour certains – cela veut-il dire que deux doses ne fonctionnent pas?

Pour la plupart des personnes entièrement vaccinées (deux doses), le vaccin contre la COVID-19 fournit une solide protection contre la maladie ou les conséquences graves. Cependant, une troisième dose est offerte à certaines populations vulnérables qui, comparativement à la population générale, ont une réponse immunitaire au vaccin plus faible ou diminuée.

Cela ne signifie pas que deux doses ne font pas leur travail. Une série complète de deux doses de vaccin fournit une excellente protection contre une infection de la COVID-19 et des conséquences graves pour la population générale, le variant préoccupant Delta inclus.

Étant donné les besoins et les circonstances particulières des personnes appartenant au groupe des vulnérables, une troisième dose aidera à améliorer la réponse de leur système immunitaire et à diminuer les risques qu’elles deviennent un cas sporadique.

La recommandation d’une troisième dose pour les personnes dans ce groupe est de faire en sorte que leur niveau de protection soit équivalent à celui de la population générale qui ne reçoit que deux doses. C’est une réponse qui aidera à protéger la santé des résidents de notre région.


Pour l’amour des enfants : votre vaccin protège ceux qui ne peuvent pas le prendre

Sans le vaccin contre la COVID-19, quelqu’un qui entre en contact étroit avec une personne infectée est à risque d’être infectée elle ou lui-même, et d’en infecter d’autres possiblement.

Si une personne entièrement vaccinée (+14 jours depuis la seconde dose) entre en contact étroit avec un candidat infecté, le risque de devenir infectée elle-même et de possiblement infecter d’autres gens  est énormément réduit.

Si elle n’est pas infectée, elle n’infectera alors personne d’autre.

Si elle est infectée, il est moins probable qu’elle transmette l’infection à d’autres puisque pour la plupart des variants, la personne aura une plus petite quantité du virus dans son corps et en éjectera moins en parlant, en expirant ou en faisant normalement d’autres activités quotidiennes.

Les enfants de moins de 12 ans constituent une grande proportion de la population qui n’est pas encore vaccinée. Les gens qui sont admissibles au vaccin et qui l’ont reçu, aident à freiner la transmission de la COVID-19, protégeant ainsi les enfants et les autres personnes qui ne peuvent pas être vaccinées.


L’immunité collective grâce aux vaccins contre la COVID-19

L’immunité collective se produit lorsqu’un nombre suffisant de personnes sont immunisées à une maladie, faisant en sorte qu’il soit peu probable qu’elle soit transmise. Au fur et à mesure qu’un plus grand nombre de résidents reçoivent le vaccin contre la COVID-19, nous nous approchons de cet objectif.

L’immunité collective offre même une couche de protection à ceux et celles qui ne peuvent pas être vaccinés parce que les personnes immunisées affaiblissent la chaîne de transmission potentielle. Le virus a donc très peu de chance de se propager dans la communauté.

Contrairement à l’infection, les vaccins contre la COVID-19 créent une immunité sans causer la maladie ni entraîner de conséquences graves, d’hospitalisation ou de décès. Nous devons continuer à augmenter le taux de Vaccination contre la COVID-19 parmi la population du BSEO  pour réaliser l’immunité collective.

Le pourcentage d’une population qui doit être vaccinée pour réaliser l’immunité collective dépend du degré de contagion de la maladie. Le variant delta est très contagieux; cela signifie qu’une plus grande proportion de la population doit être vaccinée pour freiner la propagation de la COVID-19.


Les vaccins contre la COVID-19 et vos préoccupations concernant la fertilité, la grossesse et l’allaitement

Un moyen sûr pour les gens de se protéger contre la maladie grave est de se faire vacciner contre la COVID-19. C’est aussi le cas pour les personnes enceintes, celles qui essayent de tomber enceinte ou qui désirent tomber enceinte dans le futur, ainsi que pour leur partenaire. Il n’y a aucune indication à ce jour, que les vaccins quels qu’ils soient, y compris les vaccins contre la COVID-19, causent des problèmes de fertilité chez les femmes ou les hommes.

Le vaccin est sûr et même recommandé aux personnes enceintes parce qu’elles courent un risque élevé de complications si une infection de COVID-19 se produit pendant la grossesse. Les vaccins contre la COVID-19 peuvent aussi être administrés en toute sécurité aux personnes qui allaitent. Il est probable que les anticorps fabriqués par une personne vaccinée enceinte ou qui allaite sont transmis au bébé. Non seulement c’est sécuritaire pour le bébé, mais cela aide aussi à le protéger contre la COVID-19.


Cinq raisons de prendre le vaccin

Si vous devenez infecté, vous pouvez vous rétablir rapidement, mais certains sont frappés plus durement. Voici cinq raisons de prendre le vaccin.

  1. Les vaccins visent principalement à prévenir la maladie grave, l’hospitalisation, l’admission aux soins intensifs ou le décès. Le vaccin contre la COVID-19 réalise ces objectifs avec une grande efficacité. L’augmentation du taux de la population entièrement vaccinée permettra d’assurer que les hôpitaux ne deviennent pas surchargés.
  2. Le vaccin est efficace, même contre le variant delta, pour les personnes qui sont entièrement vaccinées.
  3. Dans la faible possibilité qu’une personne entièrement vaccinée développe la COVID-19, les vaccins sont capables de réduire les symptômes et la sévérité de la maladie. Ceci a pour effet de réduire la transmission parce que, pour la plupart des variants, ces personnes ont souvent une plus petite quantité du virus dans leur corps et en libère moins quand elles parlent, expirent ou effectuent d’autres activités normales au quotidien.
  4. Alors que de plus en plus de gens reçoivent le vaccin contre la COVID-19, nous nous rapprochons de l’immunité collective qui se produit quand un nombre suffisant de personnes sont immunisées à une maladie, faisant en sorte qu’il est plus difficile de la propager.
  5. Contrairement à l’infection, le vaccin contre la COVID-19 crée une immunité sans causer de maladie grave, d’hospitalisation ou de décès. Même si vous avez eu la COVID-19, le vaccin est vous est recommandé. L’immunité naturelle à l’infection de la COVID-19 peut ne pas durer longtemps, ouvrant la porte à la possibilité de l’attraper et la propager à nouveau.

Dans son prochain et dernier Vaxé C.la.clé, le Dr Paul fait la lumière sur les résultats pour la santé étant beaucoup plus sérieux de l’infection que du vaccin contre la COVID-19. À venir mercredi le 20 octobre.

Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario