Synopsis of Literature to Date on Masks and Reducing the Spread of COVID-19

Since March 2020, over fifty countries around the world have made masks mandatory in public spaces.  In combination with other public health measures such as physical distancing, regular handwashing and disinfecting, wearing a mask in enclosed public spaces is critical to getting COVID-19 under control and eradicated.

Below is a synopsis of literature related to common concerns and questions. Consult the reference list to review the literature that was reviewed.

How does wearing a mask protect others?

There are three types of people who can spread COVID-19: those with symptoms, those without symptoms but who will develop them (pre-symptomatic) and those without symptoms who will never develop the disease but carry the virus and are able to spread it (asymptomatic). 

We know that individuals who do become ill with COVID-19 are at their most contagious 1-3 days prior to developing symptoms.1,2 Also, studies seem to find that up to 45% of any given population may carry the virus but are asymptomatic at the time of transmission.3   Thus, the need to protect others.

Research shows that in non-healthcare setting, wearing a mask helps to protect others but it does not protect the person wearing a mask.  Virus transmission occurs either when larger droplets are secreted  directly by speaking, eating, coughing, and sneezing and then drop to a surface or  when airborne droplets (aerosols) are created as water evaporates from smaller virus droplets, which can remain in the air for an extended period. Every virus-laden particle retained in a mask is not available to hang in the air as an aerosol or fall to a surface to be later picked up by touch. Regardless of the type or the size of the virus, a mask’s filtration efficiency depends on its ability to physically trap it.  Homemade cloth masks (especially those made with multiple layers) can block droplets and aerosols and prevent them from spreading further.4

The use of cloth masks for outward protection (protecting others from the person wearing the mask) has been extensively studied decades ago and the findings are still relevant to this day.  Compared with unmasked volunteers, a mask made of muslin and flannel blocked bacteria by 99.3% to 99.9%, total airborne microorganisms by 99.5% to 99.8%, and bacteria recovered from aerosols (<4 µm) by 88% to 99%. A similar experiment in 1975, compared 4 medical masks and 1 commercially produced reusable mask made of four layers of cotton muslin, for filtration efficiency of airborne droplets (<3.3 µm). The study showed reduced transmission of 72% to 89%.4 The effect occurs even when it is assumed that facemasks are only 50% effective at capturing exhaled virus droplets.5

An ecological study from Germany released in June 2020, evaluated the impact of mandatory mask use on public transportation and in sales shops in the city of Jena. It showed that mandatory masking reduced the daily growth rate of COVID-19 in Jena by 40%.6

Modelling studies have estimated variable but substantial population level effects from mask use by the general public. Even when risks associated with public mask use were incorporated into their modelling study, Stutt et al. (2020) were able to demonstrate that overall population level benefits persisted.5  When facemasks are used by the public all the time (not just from when symptoms first appear), the effective reproduction number (Re) can be more easily decreased to ideal levels (below 1). This means that the virus will not easily transmit thus leading to a ‘flattening of the curve’. Even a partial reduction of transmission may be sufficient to drive reproduction numbers below one, especially when combined with other measures such as physical distancing and good hand hygiene

Under certain conditions, when lock-down periods are implemented in combination with 100% facemask use, there is much less disease spread, secondary and tertiary waves are flattened and the epidemic is brought under control.7 This may explain why some regions, where adoption of facemask use by the public is around 100%, have experienced significantly lower rates of COVID-19 spread and associated deaths. 5,7

Why does wearing a mask protect others but not the person wearing it?

Research shows that in non-healthcare settings, wearing a mask helps to protect others but it does not protect the person wearing the mask. The virus spreads by entering the body primarily through the mouth, the nose, or the eyes.  If other people who are not wearing a mask cough or sneeze around you, they may send viral droplets into the air that can infect you by entering your eyes or through the sides of your mask.  To reduce the spread of the virus more effectively, all those who can wear a mask should when physical distancing is difficult or impossible.  You wear a mask to protect others and others wear a mask to protect you.5

Does masking replace other practices such as physical distancing or handwashing?

Wearing a mask in enclosed indoor public spaces is part of a multi-pronged approach to reducing the spread of the virus.  Regular hand washing and physical distancing will protect you from others who are COVID-19 positive but asymptomatic. However physical distancing and masking are critical to protecting others from yourself. Community-wide benefits are likely to be greatest when face masks, used along with other practices, are adopted universally (community-wide) and compliance is high.7 A recent study has shown that mask wearers tend to mix more readily with other mask wearers rather than non-mask users and therefore the impact of mask wearing is reduced when there is a lower compliance rate.8

What does the evidence say about breathing in expired carbon dioxide (CO2) from wearing a mask?

Hypercapnia – an excess of carbon dioxide in the body – is generally caused by hypoventilation (respiratory depression), lung disease, or diminished consciousness. It may also be caused by exposure to environments containing abnormally high concentrations of carbon dioxide (greater than 10%), such as from volcanic or geothermal activity, or by deep sea divers using a rebreather apparatus.9 Normally, the carbon dioxide level present in the atmosphere is about 0.04%. 

It is highly unlikely that wearing a face mask would cause a lack of oxygen or an increase in your body’s carbon dioxide levels. The extent to which a mask can affect carbon dioxide levels would depend on what it is made of, and how tightly it fits. In general, a cloth mask is not fitted tightly to your face and allows the passage of air around the mask and through the pores in the material. Therefore, a cloth mask does not absolutely protect you from inhaling the virus, but by disturbing your exhalation flow it tends to protect those around you from droplets in your breath.10

For comparison, an auditorium with poor fresh air ventilation filled with people for several hours can represent a 1% concentration of carbon dioxide9 and may cause drowsiness in some people.   This is not the same as wearing a mask for short periods of time while out grocery shopping or in line waiting to be served at the bank.

Studies show that prolonged use of any face mask, including the N95 respirator, has not been shown to cause carbon dioxide toxicity in healthy people. The N95 respirator fits more tightly to the face and therefore could cause discomfort when breathing. However, the general public should not wear an N95 respirator (unless otherwise advised by their primary care provider) as these types of masks are part of the personal protective equipment (PPE) used in the healthcare sector.

References:

  1. MIT Medical/Covid-19 update. Available from: https://medical.mit.edu/covid-19-updates/2020/07/face-shield-instead-mask
  2. Wei WE, Li Z, Chiew CJ, Yong SE, Toh MP, Lee VJ. Presymptomatic Transmission of SARS-CoV-2 Singapore, MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep 2020;69:411–415. January 23–March 16, 2020. Available from: http://dx.doi.org/10.15585/mmwr.mm6914e1external icon
  3. Daniel P. Oran, Eric J. Topol. Prevalence of Asymptomatic SARS-CoV-2 Infection. Annals of Internal Medicine, 2020; Available from: http://dx.doi.org/10.7326/M20-3012
  4. Clase CM, Fue El, Joseph M et al. Cloth masks may prevent transmission of COVID-19: An evidence-based, risk-based approach. Ann Intern Med. 2020 May 22.
  5. Stutt R, Retkute R, Bradley M, Gilligan CA, Colvin J. A modelling framework to assess the likely effectiveness of facemasks in combination with ‘lock-down’ in managing the COVID-19 pandemic. Proc R Soc Lond A Math Phys Sci. 2020 Jun 10 [Epub ahead of print]. Available from: http://doi.org/10.1098/rspa.2020.0376
  6. Mitze T, Kosfeld R, Rode J, Walde K. Face masks considerably reduce COVID-19 cases in Germany: a synthetic control method approach. Discussion paper series Institute of Labor Economics; 2020. Available from: https://www.iza.org/publications/dp/13319/face-masks-considerably-reduce-covid-19-cases-in-germany-a-synthetic-control-method-approach
  7. Steffen E. Eikenberry, Marina Mancuso et al. To mask or not to mask: Modeling the potential for face mask use by the general public to curtail the COVID-19 pandemic, Infectious Disease Modelling Volume 5, 2020, Pages 293-308. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.idm.2020.04.001 
  8. David N. Fisman , Amy L. Greer , Ashleigh R. Tuite, Bidirectional impact of imperfect mask use on reproduction number of COVID-19: A next generation matrix approach, Infectious Disease Modelling 5 (2020) 405-408.
  9. Inspectapedia, The Effects of CO2 at Various Levels or Concentrations in Air.  Available from: https://inspectapedia.com/hazmat/Carbon_Dioxide_Hazards.php 
  10. Claire Gillespie Does Wearing a Face Mask Reduce Oxygen—and Can It Increase CO2 Levels? Here's What Experts Say, May 13, 2020. Avaialble from: https://www.health.com/condition/infectious-diseases/coronavirus/does-wearing-face-mask-increase-co2-levels 
  11. Christian J. Kähler, Rainer Hain, Fundamental protective mechanisms of face masks against droplet infections, Journal of Aerosol Science, Volume 148October 2020.  Available from: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jaerosci.2020.105617
  12. PHO, A Synopsis Covid-19 – what we know so far about…wearing masks in public, 06/17/2020. Available from: https://www.publichealthontario.ca/-/media/documents/ncov/covid-wwksf/what-we-know-public-masks-apr-7-2020.pdf?la=en
Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario

Synopsis de la documentation sur les masques et la réduction de la propagation de la COVID-19 à ce jour

Depuis mars 2020, plus de cinquante pays à travers le monde ont rendu les masques obligatoires dans les espaces publics. S’ajoutant à d'autres mesures de santé publique telles que l'éloignement physique, le lavage et la désinfection réguliers des mains, le port d'un masque dans les espaces publics clos est essentiel pour maîtriser et éradiquer la COVID-19.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un résumé de la documentation sur les faits et les questions courantes. Consultez la liste de références pour passer en revue la documentation qui a été examinée. Voici des réponses aux questions souvent posées, préparées à partir d’une analyse documentaire. 

Comment le port d'un masque protège-t-il les autres? 

Il existe 3 types de personnes qui peuvent propager la COVID-19 : celles qui ont des symptômes, celles qui sont sans symptômes mais qui les développeront (pré-symptomatiques) et celles sans symptômes qui ne développeront jamais la maladie mais sont porteuses du virus et sont capables de le répandre (asymptomatique). 

Nous savons que les personnes qui contractent la COVID-19 sont le plus contagieux 1 à 3 jours avant de développer des symptômes.1,2 De plus, des études semblent montrer que jusqu'à 45 % d'une population donnée peut être porteuse du virus mais est asymptomatique au moment de la transmission.3   D'où la nécessité de protéger les autres.

La recherche montre que dans un environnement qui n’est pas de la santé, le port d'un masque aide à protéger les autres mais ne protège pas la personne qui l’a mis. La transmission du virus se produit soit lorsque de plus grosses gouttelettes sont sécrétées directement en parlant, en mangeant, en toussant et en éternuant puis en tombant sur une surface, ou lorsque des gouttelettes aéroportées (aérosols) sont créées lorsque l'eau s'évapore des plus petites gouttelettes de virus qui peuvent rester dans l'air pendant une période prolongée. Chaque particule chargée de virus retenue dans un masque n'est plus disponible pour se suspendre dans l'air sous forme d'aérosol ou tomber sur une surface pour être ensuite captée au toucher. Quel que soit le type ou la taille du virus, l’efficacité de la filtration d’un masque dépend de sa capacité à le piéger physiquement. Les masques en tissu faits maison (en particulier ceux composés de plusieurs couches) peuvent bloquer les gouttelettes et les aérosols et les empêcher de se propager davantage.4 

L'utilisation de masques en tissu pour la protection extérieure (protéger les autres de la personne portant le masque) a été largement étudiée il y a des décennies et les résultats sont toujours pertinents à ce jour. Comparé aux bénévoles sans masque, un masque en mousseline et en flanelle a bloqué les bactéries de 99,3 % à 99,9 %, les microorganismes aériens totaux de 99,5 % à 99,8 % et les bactéries récupérées des aérosols (<4 µm) de 88 % à 99 %. Une expérience similaire en 1975, a comparé 4 masques médicaux et 1 masque réutilisable produit commercialement composé de 4 couches de mousseline de coton, pour l'efficacité de la filtration des gouttelettes en suspension dans l'air (<3,3 µm). L'étude a montré une transmission réduite de 72 % à 89 %.4 L'effet se produit même si l'on suppose que les masques faciaux ne sont efficaces qu'à 50 % pour capturer les gouttelettes de virus expirées.5 

Une étude écologique en Allemagne publiée en juin 2020 a évalué l'impact de l'utilisation obligatoire d'un masque sur les transports en commun et dans les magasins de la ville de Jena. Elle montre que le port du masque obligatoire réduit le taux de croissance quotidien de COVID-19 à Jena de 40 %.6

Des études de modélisation estiment des effets variables mais substantiels au niveau de la population de l'utilisation du masque par le grand public. Même lorsque les risques associés à l'utilisation du masque en public ont été intégrés à leur étude de modélisation, Stutt et al. (2020) les avantages globaux pour la population ont persisté.5

Lorsque le public utilise des masques faciaux en tout temps (pas seulement à partir du moment où les symptômes apparaissent pour la première fois), le taux de reproduction net (Re) est plus facilement réduit à un niveau idéal (inférieur à 1). Cela signifie que le virus ne se transmet pas facilement, ce qui entraîne un « aplatissement de la courbe ». Même une réduction partielle de la transmission peut être suffisante pour entraîner un taux de reproduction net inférieur à 1, en particulier lorsqu'elle est combinée à d'autres mesures telles que l'hygiene des mains et l'éloignement physique.

Dans certaines conditions, lorsque des périodes de confinement sont mises en place et combinées à l’utilisation des masques faciaux à 100 %, il y a beaucoup moins de propagation de la maladie, les vagues secondaires et tertiaires sont aplaties et l'épidémie est maîtrisée.7 Cela peut expliquer pourquoi certaines régions, où l'adoption de l'utilisation du masque facial par le public est d'environ 100 %, ont connu des taux de propagation de la COVID-19 et des décès associés nettement inférieurs. 5,7

Pourquoi le port du masque protège-t-il les autres mais pas la personne qui le porte?

La recherche montre que dans les milieux non médicaux, le port d'un masque aide à protéger les autres mais ne protège pas la personne qui le porte. Le virus se propage en pénétrant dans le corps principalement par la bouche, le nez ou les yeux. Si d'autres personnes qui ne portent pas de masque toussent ou éternuent autour de vous, elles peuvent envoyer des gouttelettes virales dans l'air qui peuvent vous infecter en entrant dans vos yeux ou par les côtés de votre masque. Pour réduire plus efficacement la propagation du virus, tous ceux qui peuvent porter un masque devraient le faire quand la distance physique est difficile ou impossible. Vous portez un masque pour protéger les autres et les autres portent un masque pour vous protéger.5

Le port du masque remplace-t-il d'autres pratiques telles que la distance physique ou le lavage des mains?

Le port d'un masque dans les espaces publics intérieurs clos fait partie d'une approche à plusieurs volets pour réduire la propagation du virus. Le lavage régulier des mains et l'éloignement physique vous protégeront des autres qui sont positifs pour la COVID-19 mais asymptomatiques. Cependant, la distance physique et le port du masque sont essentiels pour protéger les autres de vous-même. Les avantages pour la communauté globale sont probablement plus importants lorsque les masques faciaux, utilisés avec d'autres pratiques, sont adoptés universellement (à l'échelle de la communauté) et que la conformité est élevée.7 Une étude récente a montré que les porteurs de masques ont tendance à se mélanger plus facilement avec d'autres porteurs de masques plutôt que les non-utilisateurs de masque et donc l'impact du port de masque est réduit lorsque le taux de conformité est inférieur.8

Que disent les données probantes sur l'inhalation de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) expiré en portant un masque?

L'hypercapnie - un excès de dioxyde de carbone dans le corps - est généralement causée par une hypoventilation (dépression respiratoire), une maladie pulmonaire ou une perte de conscience. Elle peut également être causée par une exposition à des environnements contenant des concentrations anormalement élevées de dioxyde de carbone (supérieures à 10 %), telles que l'activité volcanique ou géothermique, ou par des plongeurs en haute mer utilisant un appareil de respiration à circuit fermé.9 Normalement, le niveau de dioxyde de carbone présent dans l'atmosphère est d'environ 0,04 %. 

Il est très peu probable que le port d'un masque facial entraîne un manque d'oxygène ou une augmentation des niveaux de dioxyde de carbone de votre corps. La mesure dans laquelle un masque peut affecter les niveaux de dioxyde de carbone dépendra de sa composition et de son ajustement. En général, un masque en tissu n'est pas bien ajusté à votre visage et permet le passage de l'air autour du masque et à travers les pores du matériel. Par conséquent, un masque en tissu ne vous protège pas entièrement de l'inhalation du virus, mais en perturbant votre flux d'expiration, il a tendance à protéger votre entourage des gouttelettes dans votre respiration.10

À titre de comparaison, un auditorium avec une mauvaise ventilation d'air frais, rempli de personnes pendant plusieurs heures peut représenter une concentration de 1 % de dioxyde de carbone9 et provoquer une somnolence chez certaines personnes. Ce n'est pas la même chose que de porter un masque pendant de courtes périodes de temps lorsque vous faites vos courses ou que vous attendez en ligne pour être servi à la banque.

Des études montrent que la preuve n'a pas été faite que l'utilisation prolongée de n’importe quel masque facial – y compris le respirateur N95 – provoque une toxicité du dioxyde de carbone chez les personnes en bonne santé. Le respirateur N95 s’ajuste mieux (plus serré) au visage et peut donc gêner la respiration. Cependant, le grand public ne doit pas porter de respirateur N95 (sauf avis contraire de son fournisseur de soins primaires) car ces types de masques font partie de l'équipement de protection individuelle (ÉPI) utilisé dans le secteur des soins de santé.
 
Références :

  1. MIT Medical/Covid-19 update. Disponible en ligne: https://medical.mit.edu/covid-19-updates/2020/07/face-shield-instead-mask
  2. Wei WE, Li Z, Chiew CJ, Yong SE, Toh MP, Lee VJ. Presymptomatic Transmission of SARS-CoV-2 Singapore, MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep 2020;69:411–415. January 23–March 16, 2020. Disponible en ligne: http://dx.doi.org/10.15585/mmwr.mm6914e1external icon
  3. Daniel P. Oran, Eric J. Topol. Prevalence of Asymptomatic SARS-CoV-2 Infection. Annals of Internal Medicine, 2020;Disponible en ligne: http://dx.doi.org/10.7326/M20-3012
  4. Clase CM, Fue El, Joseph M et al. Cloth masks may prevent transmission of COVID-19: An evidence-based, risk-based approach. Ann Intern Med. 2020 May 22.
  5. Stutt R, Retkute R, Bradley M, Gilligan CA, Colvin J. A modelling framework to assess the likely effectiveness of facemasks in combination with ‘lock-down’ in managing the COVID-19 pandemic. Proc R Soc Lond A Math Phys Sci. 2020 Jun 10 [Epub ahead of print]. Disponible en ligne: http://doi.org/10.1098/rspa.2020.0376
  6. Mitze T, Kosfeld R, Rode J, Walde K. Face masks considerably reduce COVID-19 cases in Germany: a synthetic control method approach. Discussion paper series Institute of Labor Economics; 2020. Disponible en ligne: https://www.iza.org/publications/dp/13319/face-masks-considerably-reduce-covid-19-cases-in-germany-a-synthetic-control-method-approach
  7. Steffen E. Eikenberry, Marina Mancuso et al. To mask or not to mask: Modeling the potential for face mask use by the general public to curtail the COVID-19 pandemic, Infectious Disease Modelling Volume 5, 2020, Pages 293-308. Disponible en ligne:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.idm.2020.04.001 
  8. David N. Fisman , Amy L. Greer , Ashleigh R. Tuite, Bidirectional impact of imperfect mask use on reproduction number of COVID-19: A next generation matrix approach, Infectious Disease Modelling 5 (2020) 405-408.
  9. Inspectapedia, The Effects of CO2 at Various Levels or Concentrations in Air.  Disponible en ligne: https://inspectapedia.com/hazmat/Carbon_Dioxide_Hazards.php 
  10. Claire Gillespie Does Wearing a Face Mask Reduce Oxygen—and Can It Increase CO2 Levels? Here's What Experts Say, May 13, 2020. Disponible en ligne: https://www.health.com/condition/infectious-diseases/coronavirus/does-wearing-face-mask-increase-co2-levels 
  11. Christian J. Kähler, Rainer Hain, Fundamental protective mechanisms of face masks against droplet infections, Journal of Aerosol Science, Volume 148October 2020.  Disponible en ligne:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jaerosci.2020.105617
  12. PHO, A Synopsis Covid-19 – what we know so far about…wearing masks in public, 06/17/2020. Disponible en ligne: https://www.publichealthontario.ca/-/media/documents/ncov/covid-wwksf/what-we-know-public-masks-apr-7-2020.pdf?la=en
Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario